Working With Acrylic

acrylics phone case.jpg

acrylic coat hanger .jpg

During a materials workshop, I explored how to use simple plastic (acrylic) in design. As Acrylic is a thermoplastic and can be manipulated using heat, I was able to make simple bends and angles on the plastic. I made a phone stand using 2 basic bends. Then after, I made a coat hanger, which was crafted using a large piece of acrylic, bent then cut into strips. I sanded the corners and drilled holes through the acrylic into the wooden board, which is now in use at home. This was a really fun workshop as I have never worked with acrylic before and will definitely use this type of plastic in the future.

Leave a Reply

